Solid Waste

7:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Monday  –  Friday

Residential Billing:

Solid Waste Office:
(662) 369-6654

All household garbage should be bagged within the Monroe County Cart or another dump-able cart and out for collection by 7:00 a.m. on scheduled collection days. Garbage should be put out by 7:00 a.m. in case of route changes, unexpected equipment breakdowns or road closings.

The Solid Waste Department will dump other containers, but they must be dump-able industrial grade containers. Monroe County will NOT be responsible for damages to personal containers .

Carts should be placed within five (5) feet of the roadway and the wheels should be placed AWAY from the road.

All Monroe County containers are GPS’d to the address where it was set and should be left there in the event the resident moves.

If someone moves into a new residence, they should first call the billing number (above) to get signed up for garbage collection. The billing office will then contact the Solid Waste Department and any resident that does not already have a cart assigned to that address will have a cart delivered on Mondays.

If a cart has been stolen or is missing, call the Solid Waste Department office so a police report can be filed, in order to receive a replacement cart.

No vegetative material will be collected by the Solid Waste Department, though it will be accepted at the Monroe County Solid Waste facility on Highway 8 East.

Furniture, appliances and other bulky items will be collected, if placed out by the road. Call the office to be placed on the collection list.

The Solid Waste facility will accept computers, up to ten (10) tires per week and ten (10) gallons of paint per week for recycling/disposal.

To report illegal dumping, call Carl Cadden, the Monroe County Code Enforcement Officer, at 369-2509 .

Residential bills can be placed in a dropbox located at the Monroe County Government Complex in Amory or the Circuit Courthouse in Aberdeen.  You can pay by phone by calling the billing office at 800.253.0831 or, of course, US Postal Service.

Garbage Cart Information

Rubbish Site
The Monroe County facility located at 52076 Highway 8 East in the Westville Community, operates both a rubbish site as well as a transfer station. Household garbage may be brought to the transfer station, and shingles, vegetative material, construction debris as well as furniture and appliances may be disposed of at the Rubbish Site. All garbage and rubbish must be weighed before disposal.

The Solid Waste facility will accept computers, up to ten (10) tires per week and ten(10) gallons of paint per week for recycling/disposal.

Monroe County Solid Waste does not accept hazardous material. Three Rivers Solid Waste Authority sponsors several Hazardous Waste Collection Days each year, when hazardous materials may be taken for collection. Call the Solid Waste office for dates and locations.

To report illegal dumpsites, call Carl Cadden, the Monroe County Enforcement Officer, at 662-369-2509.